The Palmer Post


Joey G. Dauben | 8 Months in New Hampshire, 12 Days in Jail by Joey G. Dauben
June 10, 2010, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Joey G. Dauben, News Staff

8 months in New Hampshire, 12 days in jail

JOEY G. DAUBEN
The Palmer Post
publisher@thepalmerpost.com

PALMER – Last year, I spent an incredible eight months in the most liberty-loving state in the nation, New Hampshire.

It is, literally, the Live Free or Die state. I wear a brown Live Free or Die bracelet that I bought on my spring break trip to New Hampshire in 2007, my first visit to the state. Little did I know that when I left Palmer the first time in February 2009, I would experience every bit of that state motto.

My experience from 2007 to 2009, when I made the move, was confusion over whether or not I should in fact make the move up north, but, I had one gigantic personal goal in my life: to one day run for President of the United States. That still is a long-held personal goal of mine to accomplish, but New Hampshire is unique in the fact that anyone who dreams of one day running for President can pay a $1,000 filing fee to the Secretary of State’s office and become a candidate for the White House. It is also the state where the first presidential primary in America is conducted.

On an education level, my reason for moving to N.H. was to finish one, and prepare for a shot at law school. A secondary but usually the one that attracted much discussion was my presidential ambitions.

Both were sidetracked in the town of Plymouth, my second favorite town in all of America (the first being, ironically, Palmer.) While I was busy climbing the ladders of Republican Party politics in N.H., traveling the tiny state of 2 million with my bullhorn and my ambition, a case was brewing against me back home in Texas, or more importantly, in neighboring Combine, just a stone’s throw away from Ferris and Seagoville.

A former writer of mine who I fired for utilizing my Web site – The Ellis County Observer – to attack me, became a commissioned yet unpaid reserve police officer in Combine. His entire life was consumed with taking down the former chief in Bardwell, near Ennis. And yes, while I am still remotely involved in the Internet real estate business, I do contract work for Web development, HTML writing, etc. The former Bardwell chief, whom I have personally written about (in not so flattering ways), wanted a Web site devoted to John Allen “Jay” Hoskins, the Combine cop who was a former writer of mine.

It was money at the time when I needed it, so I agreed to set up a blog Web site.

I created CrookedCombine.com and GypsyCopJay.com to show the World Wide Web what a disgruntled cop – a gypsy cop no less – was up to, and the harassment he was causing not only others back in Texas, but me as well.

While I was certain that my days in N.H. would not be long (I believe I was there specifically for “a season”), summer was wrapping up and I devoted a large part of my free time to blogging – from Plymouth – on The Ellis County Observer.

Spiritually, God revealed to me in dreams and in visions that he would give me up to the hands of my enemy. I had these visions in June of 2009, three months before my arrest, so I made preparations. I began to contact friends, family and legal sources in Ellis County – again, from N.H. – about the preparations that Hoskins, who is now out of law enforcement (hopefully for good) due to his sickening deeds – was planning to employ.

My life from Aug. 18 to Sept. 14, the day I was arrested, was full of uncontrollable stress. On a business-related trip to Los Angeles, Hoskins repeatedly called me as I was touring West Hollywood with a Messianic Jewish friend, threatening me with arrest, extradition back to Texas and accusing me of committing three felonies for posting a mug shot on The Ellis County Observer. The mug shot was of William Achey, a fellow reserve officer at the time in Combine.

I had been e-mailed anonymously a mug shot of Achey, who was arrested for ironically, impersonating a police officer. Hoskins accused me three times in that phone call while in Los Angeles of committing a felony just for receiving the e-mailed mug shot. He then accused me of committing another felony of publishing it.

That was Aug. 18 of 2009. So from that point forward, I began to stress and worry and pray, because I honestly did not know when Hoskins would pull the lever and have me arrested 2,000 miles away. On the morning of Sept. 14, I woke up very early to the words God himself was giving me: act like you are being arrested today. I grabbed a cup of coffee, turned on my computer and started preparing as if I were going to be arrested that day…I unleashed a barrage of documents, stories, articles, editorials, comments and other spread-the-word material that I was sure would be read by thousands of people, including the media, when this arrest came down.

Sure enough, around 9 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 14, just five minutes to the dot that I posted a YouTube video repeating my stressful stance that Hoskins was going after me on a political vendetta, the Plymouth, N.H. police called me and had me come out of my downtown Main Street apartment to turn myself in.

The crime that Hoskins accused me of carried with it a $1.5 million bond, but when faxed, the bond was lowered to $500,000. Plymouth officers allowed me to text message from my BlackBerry my lawyers. What they didn’t know was that I text messaged every single friend, family member, lawyer, journalist that I knew to tell them that I got arrested and details would be provided on The Ellis County Observer. I updated my Facebook status from Plymouth PD and diverted everyone’s eyes to the blog. I was given several months of preparation for what Hoskins and Combine PD’s over-zealous and now unemployed operation did.

I spent 12 days in a New Hampshire jail, the first four of those being the most terrifying experience I have ever faced in all of my life. I cried myself to sleep I was so scared. I told God that I forgave the monsters with police badges for what they had done to me, but I also apologized to God if my zeal for exposing the truth about corrupt politicians via my blog and newspaper career also went counter to my call.

The first day I was locked up, I immediately started telling inmates and jail guards and captains of the story. I was an immediate celebrity, though my lawyer at the time, Rodney Pat Ramsey, told me to keep quiet. The entire jail talked about how my story was on N.H. television for two straight days. I figured, as long as I was caught up in this mess, I was going to milk it for all its worth. Plus, it also kept everyone’s eyes and attention mostly on me being a guy who faced down a corrupt police department and was thrown in jail falsely for it. I befriended and found favor with the guards, with the captain, and with the many people associated with Grafton County, N.H. government. After all, my networking up until that time had made me known to those who ran the county government, and some in state government.

The first day, I was also aiming to move back to Ellis County to do what I was really called to do: expose the unfruitful works of darkness. I loved N.H., but I missed Texas. Then, Thursday, Sept. 17, God woke me up at 3 a.m. and told me to pray, and pray real hard that the enemy’s designs and counsel be frustrated and not carried out. Wasn’t sure what it entailed, but little did I know that my felony charges were not dropped on Friday, Sept. 18, they were rejected stone-cold by Dallas County prosecutors, meaning, Combine would never see the light of day on those allegations that resulted in Hoskins throwing a newspaper publisher in jail (at the time, I had been working on The Plymouth Review, a conservative newspaper I started in April.)

However, Dallas County apparently didn’t notify N.H. authorities and so, I stayed in jail for another six days. Twelve days in all, and 12 being the number of Yeshua’s disciples. Then, Friday, Sept. 25, I walked out a free man, got a half-priced taxi ride back to my apartment because the driver was himself falsely accused of a crime and imprisoned. The odds and irony amaze me.

So, I packed up my things, and my two dogs, and hugged my N.H. political mentor, Omer Ahern, whom to this day I respect and appreciate, for if it were not for him, my “season” in N.H. would not have been life-transforming.

Not only were the felonies rejected, but the two search and seizures of my property – e-mails, computer equipment, cameras, digital tape recorder – were unconstitutional and illegal. Due to me being a journalist, a newspaper publisher and an on-again-off-again news editor for The Ellis County Press, there are journalist shield laws that protect me from revealing sources and disclosing information in a criminal proceeding. Those Republicans who cheered the U.S.A. PATRIOT Act after Sept. 11 that allows for warrantless searches and wiretaps and a host of other ungodly legal precepts will be the first to defend the Second Amendment, and the first to destroy the Fourth. But it was my Fourth Amendment that bolstered the case against Hoskins and Combine PD.

My life was transformed in that 12 days of jail, falsely accused and falsely imprisoned. However, I learned to forgive my enemies (even Hoskins), love what our soldiers overseas are serving for (regardless of the opinion about wars, you must sincerely appreciate their sacrifice), and appreciate what men and women do every day in their jobs as public servants.

God might have you locked up for a season, or a time, but he’s going to protect you, if you hold on to your faith. Trials and tribulations are not for sinners only, they are for believers. God sends delusions and false prophets your way not as a trick for unbelievers, but to the very believers to test them.

God will also take you out of harm’s way with pending judgment approaching. And God will always send angels and guardians to watch out for you. My life is no different than anyone else’s, but my calling is greater than most because of the unbelievable dirtiness that comes with corruption.

However, I am not bitter towards Hoskins or the Combine police for what they did to me. I forgave them, and now, soon, whenever, I will get my turn. Redemption is the story of our lives, but revenge is for fools. Some have wondered what I will do, and it’s a very simple answer: sue. I will file a civil rights lawsuit against Combine, Texas in hopes that they will learn a lesson just like I did.

But ultimately, whatever settlement comes about, I have earmarked it for doing God’s work. Whether that’s funding missionaries or prison ministries, or helping friends and family with medical bills and the like, it’s not my reward, it’s God’s.

And to those who say that our freedom is can be bartered, I tell you the truth: you wouldn’t have a clue as to what fighting for freedom is all about. When one loses their freedom, they die. Live Free or Die. I did both in one year. And for that, I thank God because without those events, I would not have learned true forgiveness, true love and an appreciation for freedom.

To those who are scared behind prison walls, please, rest assured that your reward is waiting for you. And to those in the free world, please, remember those in prison and in jail. Pray for them, pray for their protection and pray that they, too, will find favor with the inmates, the guards and the jail staff.

Shortly after arriving back in Ellis County in Sept. 2007, Hoskins resigned, as did his police chief, Steve Allen, and city secretary Karla Strachan.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] was the incident a few years ago when Dauben – who recounts it on his Palmer Post news website – moved to liberty-friendly New Hampshire and was jailed […]

Pingback by Texas ‘Muckraker’ Who Crusaded Against Child-Sex Crimes Jailed for Similar Crime :




Leave a Reply

